Home Page Navigation Contents Contact Sitemap Search

Mal­ware

This article is an intro­duc­tion to the world of mal­ware. It explains how mal­ware works in gen­eral, and also dis­cusses the most common routes of infec­tion and harmful behav­iour pat­terns. In the process, we explain how our “5 steps for your dig­ital secu­rity” will pro­vide effec­tive pro­tec­tion each time.

The most impor­tant points to remember:

  • Mal­ware denotes com­puter pro­grams with unde­sir­able and fre­quently harmful functions.
  • There are dif­ferent types of mal­ware, requiring dif­ferent pre­ven­ta­tive measures.
  • Over the past years, risks posed by mal­ware have increased further.
  • You can effec­tively reduce such mal­ware risks by fol­lowing our “5 steps for your dig­ital secu­rity“.

Mal­ware – an unde­sir­able com­puter program

The word “mal­ware” is an umbrella term for com­puter pro­grams usu­ally cre­ated delib­er­ately to harm users.

Sim­ilar to con­ven­tional soft­ware, mal­ware cre­ation and dis­tri­b­u­tion methods have also devel­oped fur­ther. The former is increas­ingly pur­sued at a pro­fes­sional level, con­tributing to a higher volatility of mal­ware devel­op­ments. An increas­ingly tar­geted approach is also used to then spread this mal­ware. Pri­vate indi­vid­uals and SME are sub­ject to sys­tem­atic attack.

Infec­tion

Sim­ilar to other com­puter pro­grams, mal­ware is nothing but a series of instruc­tions exe­cuted by a computer.

To exert its harmful impact, mal­ware will there­fore have to be exe­cuted by the system. This either involves users or pro­grams already run­ning giving instruc­tions to do so.

It is a well-known fact that the former hap­pens when users are led to believe that they can either ben­efit or avoid harm this way. Mal­ware exe­cuted in this manner is denoted by the umbrella term Trojan Horse, or Trojan for short. It mas­quer­ades as a useful pro­gram and is gen­er­ally ini­ti­ated by users them­selves. Once exe­cuted, it takes full harmful effect.

And this doesn’t nec­es­sarily have to involve exe­cutable pro­gram files in the classic sense. Office doc­u­ments and PDF files can also con­tain so-called macros, which are exe­cuted by this software.

Such attempted decep­tion can often be exposed and pre­vented by taking our “Step 5 – Exer­cising care and remaining alert“.

If mal­ware is exe­cuted by a pro­gram already run­ning without any user action, this hap­pens by exploiting a so-called secu­rity gap, or vul­ner­a­bility. This is an error in a program’s logic which could affect security.

Vul­ner­a­bil­i­ties in browsers for instance allow for so-called drive-by down­loads to occur. Oper­ating system vul­ner­a­bil­i­ties are often exploited, too, for instance to infil­trate a device via external data car­riers such as USB sticks or a net­work. Mal­ware spreading autonomously via such vul­ner­a­bil­i­ties is called a worm.

Soft­ware man­u­fac­turers reg­u­larly fix such vul­ner­a­bil­i­ties by pro­viding updates. The most impor­tant mea­sure to take to pre­vent a mal­ware infec­tion is there­fore con­sid­ered to be “Step 3 – Pre­venting with soft­ware updates“.

Once exe­cuted, most mal­ware vari­ants seek to ensure they can run their mali­cious code time and again, employing a variety of methods. A virus will write its own mal­ware code into other pro­grams to do so. So-called rootkits will directly infil­trate your oper­ating system code.

Dam­aging effects

You cannot com­pletely avoid all risks of catching a mal­ware infec­tion. It is there­fore rec­om­mended you also take mea­sures in case there is a suc­cessful infection.

Below we will intro­duce some common damage sce­narios and explain how the harm caused can be mit­i­gated by fol­lowing our “5 steps for your dig­ital secu­rity“.

System slow­down

The fraud­u­lent abuse of system and net­work resources can slow you down con­sid­er­ably when you are working on an infected device, or even make doing so impos­sible alto­gether. The one type of mal­ware with a huge effect on system per­for­mance is that cre­ated for such pur­poses as mining cryp­tocur­rency (Crypto Miner), cracking pass­words, or car­rying out attacks on other sys­tems (for instance Dis­trib­uted Denial of Service).

This type of mal­ware ben­e­fits from infecting the largest number of sys­tems pos­sible, which are then com­bined into a so-called botnet.

Such mal­ware is designed to wreak havoc on a system over the longer term, and should be dis­cov­ered by your anti-virus soft­ware sooner or later. For this to work prop­erly though, you will have to make sure to reg­u­larly update it and run repeated com­plete scans of your whole system. You can find fur­ther infor­ma­tion on this under “Step 2 – Mon­i­toring with antivirus soft­ware and fire­wall

Ad dis­plays

Pro­grams known as adware make them­selves unpop­ular with their vic­tims by con­tin­u­ously dis­playing ads.

If a system is plagued by an uncom­monly high number of ads, this might indi­cate another kind of mal­ware infec­tion and should serve as an oppor­tu­nity to clean your system.

If the ads dis­played are lim­ited to web­sites only, and are only shown inside your browser, it could be worth­while fol­lowing up on our tips for increased levels of pri­vacy and data pro­tec­tion on the Internet, or on how to use an adblocker.

Data col­lec­tion

Mal­ware with spy­ware prop­er­ties is char­ac­terised by specif­i­cally col­lecting and passing on infor­ma­tion about its vic­tims. This could for instance entail analysing your surfing habits, cap­turing key­strokes (key­logger) or stealing sen­si­tive data.

To mit­i­gate the risk of spy­ware activ­i­ties, we rec­om­mend you seg­ment your own dig­ital activ­i­ties, and only dis­close your data very spar­ingly. By fol­lowing our “Step 4 – Pro­tecting online access“, you can effec­tively reduce the extent of damage caused by a suc­cessful spy­ware attack. Using two-factor authen­tifi­ca­tion for instance ensures your e-banking account is not auto­mat­i­cally com­pro­mised in case your pass­word is captured.

Encryp­tion or destruc­tion of data

Data encryp­tion is mainly used as leverage for black­mail attempts by so-called ran­somware.

Once you have cleaned your system, usu­ally the only remedy here is to restore your data from a back-up you have cre­ated pre­vi­ously. “Step 1 – Backing up data“ is the cor­ner­stone for suc­cessful data recovery.

Com­bined attacks

Mal­ware does not just limit itself to the sce­narios described above. Sev­eral of these approaches can for instance be com­bined, or com­pletely new approaches developed.

The former is achieved with the help of so-called down­loaders, which will down­load fur­ther mal­ware to the system under attack auto­mat­i­cally or upon request.

One promi­nent example for a com­bined attack are black­mail attempts where spying out a tar­geted system is the first step, with its data then being encrypted in a second step. This allows black­mailers to exert more pres­sure on their vic­tims, for instance by threat­ening to pub­lish the data cap­tured, or to pass them on to a competitor.

Iden­ti­fi­ca­tion and cleaning

If you follow our “5 steps for your dig­ital secu­rity“, you will effec­tively reduce the risk of a mal­ware infec­tion occur­ring, and of any ensuing damage sce­narios, too.

You cannot how­ever com­pletely rule out any such risks com­pletely. Read our article on “Mal­ware infec­tions“ to find out how to recog­nise and resolve an infection.

Mal­ware” is a term used to denote com­puter pro­grams devel­oped to exe­cute unde­sir­able and poten­tially harmful func­tions on a victim’s device. The term is a com­bi­na­tion of “mali­cious” and “soft­ware”.

What else would you like to learn about security when e-banking?

Reg­ister for a course now
and learn more:

Basic course

Find out about cur­rent Internet threats and some easy pro­tec­tive mea­sures, and how to securely use e-banking.

fur­ther information

Prac­tical course

Prac­tice the most impor­tant mea­sures for your com­puter and e-banking secu­rity on com­puters pro­vided by us.

fur­ther information

Online course for the under-30s

Learn how to use your smart­phone securely. Next to basics, we will show you what you should know about social media, clouds, mobile banking and mobile payments.

fur­ther information

Course for SMEs

Is your organ­i­sa­tion suf­fi­ciently secure? Learn which mea­sures you can take to sig­nif­i­cantly strengthen your organisation’s IT security.

fur­ther information

Send this to a friend

Startseite Navigation Inhalt Kontakt Sitemap Suche

Mal­ware

Dieser Artikel führt Sie in die Welt der Schad­pro­gramme ein. Sie erfahren, wie Mal­ware grund­le­gend funk­tio­niert und lernen die gän­gigsten Infek­ti­ons­wege und schäd­li­chen Ver­hal­tens­weisen kennen. Dabei wird Ihnen jeweils vor Augen geführt, wie unsere «5 Schritte für Ihre digi­tale Sicher­heit» Sie effektiv schützen.

Wich­tigste Merkpunkte:

  • Mal­ware sind Com­pu­ter­pro­gramme, mit uner­wünschten und oft schäd­li­chen Funktionen.
  • Die Aus­prä­gungen von Mal­ware sind viel­seitig und bedürfen unter­schied­li­cher Präventionsmassnahmen.
  • In den letzten Jahren haben die Risiken durch Mal­ware weiter zugenommen.
  • Die Risiken durch Mal­ware lassen sich mit unseren «5 Schritte für Ihre digi­tale Sicher­heit» effektiv reduzieren.

Mal­ware – ein uner­wünschtes Computerprogramm

Das Wort Mal­ware ist ein Über­be­griff für Com­pu­ter­pro­gramme, die meis­tens bewusst erstellt werden, um den Benut­zern zu Schaden.

Ähn­lich wie bei her­kömm­li­cher Soft­ware hat sich auch die Erschaf­fung und Ver­brei­tung von Mal­ware wei­ter­ent­wi­ckelt. Ers­teres geschieht ver­mehrt auf einem pro­fes­sio­nellen Niveau und trägt zu einer grös­seren Vola­ti­lität der Mal­ware-Ent­wick­lung bei. Zudem wird Mal­ware immer gezielter ver­breitet. Pri­vat­per­sonen sowie KMU werden sys­te­ma­tisch angegriffen.

Infek­tion

Wie alle Com­pu­ter­pro­gramme ist auch Mal­ware nichts anderes als eine Reihe von Anwei­sungen, welche durch den Com­puter aus­ge­führt werden.

Um ihre schä­di­gende Wir­kung zu errei­chen, muss Mal­ware dem­nach durch das System aus­ge­führt werden. Dies geschieht ent­weder auf Anwei­sung des Benut­zers oder eines bereits lau­fenden Programms.

Ers­teres geschieht bekannt­lich, indem den Benut­zern ent­weder ein mög­li­cher Nutzen oder abwend­barer Schaden vor­ge­gau­kelt wird. Mal­ware, welche über diesen Weg aus­ge­führt wird, ist unter dem Über­be­griff Tro­ja­ni­sches Pferd oder kurz Tro­janer bekannt. Sie tarnt sich als nütz­li­ches Pro­gramm und wird in der Regel durch das Opfer selbst gestartet. Einmal aus­ge­führt, ent­faltet es seine schä­di­gende Wirkung.

Dabei muss es sich nicht zwin­gend um klas­sisch aus­führ­bare Pro­gramm­da­teien han­deln. Auch Office-Doku­mente und PDF-Dateien können soge­nannte Makros ent­halten, welche durch die jewei­ligen Pro­gramme aus­ge­führt werden.

Der­ar­tige Täu­schungs­ver­suche lassen sich oft durch unseren «Schritt 5 – Auf­passen und wachsam sein» ent­larven und verhindern.

Wenn Mal­ware durch ein lau­fendes Pro­gramm, ohne Zutun einer Person, aus­ge­führt wird, geschieht dies über das Aus­nutzen einer soge­nannte Sicher­heits­lücke. Dabei han­delt es sich um Fehler in der Pro­gramm­logik, welche Aus­wir­kungen auf die Sicher­heit haben können.

Sicher­heits­lü­cken in Brow­sern erlauben es bei­spiels­weise soge­nannte Drive-By-Down­loads zu rea­li­sieren. Auch Sicher­heits­lü­cken im Betriebs­system werden gerne aus­ge­nutzt, um bei­spiels­weise Schad­soft­ware über externe Daten­träger wie USB-Sticks oder das Netz­werk ein­zu­schleusen. Mal­ware, welche sich selbst­ständig über der­ar­tige Fehler ver­breitet, wird als Wurm bezeichnet.

Sicher­heits­lü­cken werden regel­mässig durch Soft­ware­her­steller geschlossen, indem Updates zur Ver­fü­gung gestellt werden. Des­wegen gilt als wich­tigste Mass­nahme zur Vor­beu­gung von Mal­ware­infek­tionen «Schritt 3 – Vor­beugen mit Soft­ware-Updates».

Einmal aus­ge­führt gilt es für die meisten Mal­ware Vari­anten mit­tels unter­schied­li­cher Methoden sicher­zu­stellen, dass ihr Schad­code immer wieder gestartet wird. Ein Virus schreibt zu diesem Zweck den eigenen Schad­code in andere Pro­gramme. So genannte Root­kits nisten sich hierzu direkt im Code des Betriebs­sys­tems ein.

Schäd­liche Wirkung

Das Risiko einer Mal­ware­infek­tion lässt sich nicht voll­ständig ver­meiden. Des­wegen ist es ratsam auch Mass­nahmen für den Fall einer erfolg­rei­chen Infek­tion vorzusehen.

Nach­fol­gend werden gän­gige Scha­dens­sze­na­rien vor­ge­stellt und es wird erläu­tert, wie diese durch unsere «5 Schritte für Ihre digi­tale Sicher­heit» redu­ziert werden können.

Ver­lang­sa­mung des Systems

Die miss­bräuch­liche Nut­zung von System- und Netz­werk­res­sourcen kann die Arbeit mit einem infi­zierten Gerät stark ver­lang­samen oder gar ver­un­mög­li­chen. Einen grossen Ein­fluss auf die Leis­tung eines Sys­tems hat Mal­ware, welche bei­spiels­weise für das Schürfen von Kryp­to­wäh­rungen (Crypto Miner), Kna­cken von Pass­wör­tern oder dem Durch­führen von Angriffen auf wei­tere Sys­teme (z.B. Dis­tri­buted Denial-of-Ser­vice) erstellt wurde.

Diese Art der Mal­ware ent­faltet Ihren Nutzen mit der Infek­tion einer mög­lichst grossen Anzahl an Sys­temen, welche in ein so genanntes Bot­netz zusam­men­ge­fasst werden.

Solche Mal­ware ist darauf aus­ge­legt, län­ger­fristig auf einem System ihr Unwesen zu treiben und sollte früher oder später durch ein Anti­vi­ren­pro­gramm ent­deckt werden. Damit dies jedoch richtig funk­tio­niert, muss es regel­mässig aktua­li­siert und wie­der­ho­lend ein voll­stän­diger Scan des ganzen Sys­tems durch­ge­führt werden. Wei­tere Infor­ma­tionen dazu unter «Schritt 2 – Über­wa­chen mit Viren­schutz und Fire­wall».

Anzeigen von Werbung

Die unter dem Begriff Adware bekannten Pro­gramme machen sich durch das Ein­blenden von Wer­be­an­zeigen bei ihren Opfern unbeliebt.

Wird ein System mit uner­wartet viel Wer­bung geplagt, ist dies ein Indi­kator für wei­tere Mal­ware Infek­tionen und sollte als Anlass zu einer Sys­tem­säu­be­rung genommen werden.

Beschränkt sich die Wer­bung auf Web­seiten und wird ledig­lich inner­halb ihres Brow­sers ange­zeigt, könnte es sich lohnen, unsere Tipps für mehr Daten­schutz und Pri­vat­sphäre im Internet oder der Ver­wen­dung von Wer­be­blo­ckern zu befolgen.

Sam­meln von Informationen

Mal­ware mit Spy­ware Eigen­schaften zeichnet sich dadurch aus, dass sie gezielt Infor­ma­tionen über ihre Opfer sam­meln und wei­ter­leiten. Dies kann bei­spiels­weise die Ana­lyse des Surf­ver­hal­tens, das Abhor­chen von Tas­ta­tur­an­schlägen (Key­logger) oder das Stehlen von sen­si­blen Daten beinhalten.

Um die Risiken durch Spy­ware zu ver­rin­gern, emp­fiehlt es sich, die eigenen digi­talen Akti­vi­täten zu seg­men­tieren und ein daten­spar­sames Ver­halten an den Tag zu legen. Durch die Befol­gung von «Schritt 4 – Schützen der Online-Zugänge» redu­zieren Sie effektiv das Scha­dens­aus­mass bei einem erfolg­rei­chen Spio­na­ge­an­griff. So führt bei­spiels­weise beim Ein­satz von Zwei-Faktor-Authen­ti­fi­zie­rung ein aus­spio­niertes Pass­wort nicht sofort zur Kom­pro­mit­tie­rung Ihres E-Ban­king Accounts.

Ver­schlüs­se­lung oder Zer­stö­rung von Daten

Die Ver­schlüs­se­lung von Daten wird haupt­säch­lich als Druck­mittel bei Erpres­sungs­ver­su­chen mit so genannter Ran­som­ware eingesetzt.

In einem sol­chen Fall hilft nach der Sys­tem­be­rei­ni­gung meist nur die Wie­der­her­stel­lung der Daten aus einem bereits erstellten Backup. «Schritt 1 – Sichern der Daten» fun­giert hierbei als Grund­pfeiler für eine erfolg­reiche Datenwiederherstellung.

Kom­bi­nierte Angriffe

Das mög­liche Ver­halten von Mal­ware beschränkt sich nicht nur auf die beschrie­benen Sze­na­rien. So werden oft meh­rere der beschrie­benen Ver­hal­tens­weisen kom­bi­niert oder neu­ar­tige Vor­ge­hens­weisen entwickelt.

Ers­teres wird durch den Ein­satz soge­nannter Down­loader erreicht, welche auto­ma­tisch oder auf Befehl wei­tere Mal­ware auf das Ziel­system nachladen.

Ein pro­mi­nentes Bei­spiel für kom­bi­nierte Angriffe sind Erpres­sungen, bei wel­chen in einem ersten Schritt ein Ziel­system aus­ge­späht und im zweiten Schritt die Daten ver­schlüs­selt werden. Dies erlaubt es den Erpres­sern mehr Druck auf ihre Opfer aus­zu­üben, indem ihnen bei­spiels­weise ange­droht wird, die erbeu­teten Daten zu ver­öf­fent­li­chen oder der Kon­kur­renz zukommen zu lassen.

Iden­ti­fi­zie­rung und Säuberung

Mit der Befol­gung unserer «5 Schritte für Ihre digi­tale Sicher­heit» redu­zieren sie effektiv die Ein­tre­tens­wahr­schein­lich­keit einer Mal­ware­infek­tion und der damit ver­bun­denen Schadenszenarien.

Gänz­lich lässt sich das Risiko jedoch nicht aus­schliessen. Lesen Sie unseren Artikel «Mal­ware­infek­tion» um zu erfahren, wie Sie eine Infek­tion erkennen und beheben können.

Als Mal­ware, Schad­pro­gramm oder Schad­soft­ware werden Com­pu­ter­pro­gramme bezeichnet, die ent­wi­ckelt wurden, um, aus Sicht des Opfers, uner­wünschte und gege­be­nen­falls schäd­liche Funk­tionen aus­zu­führen. Der Begriff setzt sich aus den beiden Wör­tern mali­cious «bös­artig» und Soft­ware zusammen.

Was möchten Sie weiter zum Thema Sicherheit beim E-Banking wissen?

Jetzt für einen Kurs
anmelden und mehr lernen:

Grund­kurs

Lernen Sie die aktu­ellen Bedro­hungen im Internet kennen und wie Sie sich mit ein­fa­chen Mass­nahmen davor schützen und E-Ban­king sicher anwenden.

wei­tere Informationen

Pra­xis­kurs

Üben Sie an von uns bereit­ge­stellten Com­pu­tern die wich­tigsten Mass­nahmen für Ihre Com­puter- und E-Banking-Sicherheit.

wei­tere Informationen

Online-Kurs für unter 30-jährige

Lerne dein Smart­phone sicher zu ver­wenden. Neben Basics zeigen wir dir, was bzgl. Social Media, Clouds, Mobile Ban­king und Mobile Pay­ment wichtig ist.

wei­tere Informationen

Kurs für KMU

Ist Ihr Unter­nehmen genü­gend sicher? Lernen Sie, mit wel­chen Mass­nahmen Sie die Infor­ma­ti­ons­si­cher­heit in Ihrem Unter­nehmen deut­lich erhöhen.

wei­tere Informationen

Send this to a friend