For many people, cloud services have long since become part of their everyday lives. Data are available at any time and easy to synchronise. Yet this ease of use shouldn’t distract from the fact that cloud storage, too, involves certain security risks.
A cloud is only as secure as your user account.
Most successful attacks on cloud accounts don’t take place because of cloud providers such as OneDrive, Google Drive, iCloud or Dropbox being unsafe, but because user accounts are badly protected. A weak password or one used several times in different places often is all attackers need to obtain access to your personal data.
The following therefore applies:
- Use a unique, strong password for each of your cloud accounts.
- If at all possible, activate multi-factor authentication (MFA). That way, one stolen password is no longer enough to access your data in an unauthorised manner.
- Use a password manager to create and manage secure passwords.
Beware when sharing data
Cloud services simplify the sharing of documents. However, share links often remain active longer than necessary or are made publicly available by mistake. You should therefore check regularly which data you have shared and how long for, and only provide any permissions necessary.
Added protection for sensitive data
Not every file belongs into the cloud in an unencrypted form. Documents of a particularly sensitive nature, such as copies of identification documents, tax records or contracts, should ideally be encrypted before uploading. This ensures your content remains protected even in case unauthorised persons obtain access to your files.
Deleted doesn’t mean gone instantly
Many people assume that deleted files are removed from servers straight away. In fact, numerous cloud providers store deleted data for several weeks or even months longer. This does make it easier to restore any data deleted by mistake, but also means that data don’t disappear instantly.
If you would like to delete your cloud account or remove sensitive information, you should therefore be aware of your cloud provider’s deletion policy.
Synchronisation doesn’t replace a proper back-up
A frequent misconception: Many people assume that cloud storage automatically also means your data are backed up. In fact, files changed or deleted by mistake are often synchronised with all connected devices. In case a file is encrypted or deleted by malware, this could also then be synchronised.
The tried and tested 3-2-1 rule for back-ups therefore still applies:
- three copies of your important data,
- on two different kinds of storage media,
- with one copy kept in a separate place.
Don’t forget your devices
Even the most secure of clouds doesn’t protect against a compromised computer or smartphone. Keep your devices up-to-date, install all security updates straight away and be careful with suspicious e-mails, links or file attachments.