Home Page Navigation Contents Contact Sitemap Search

CEO Fraud

So-called "CEO fraud" is an unscrupulous scam tactic. It involves company employees with direct payment authority receiving an e-mail from one of their superiors asking them to initiate a payment to a certain recipient as soon as possible. In reality though, the sender address is faked, with a fraudster hiding behind it.

The most important points for employees to remember:

  • Do not disclose any information if you are contacted in an unusual or dubious way, and do not follow any instructions, even if you are put under pressure.
  • Before executing any such payment requests, immediately ask your superior via another channel (in person or by telephone) to confirm them.
  • Look out for any missing or incorrect security elements such as e-mail signatures.

The most important points for companies to remember:

  • Ensure your employees are aware of this type of fraud.
  • Check what kind of information is available about your company online, and limit this where possible and expedient.
  • Define and implement a payment release process involving double checks and joint signatures.
  • You should also report any such attempts at fraud to the police.
  • Check that advanced security elements such as e-mail signatures are implemented in critical business processes (payment process).

Secure employee behaviour

If one of your supervisors sends you an e-mail asking you to initiate an immediate payment which has not been discussed in advance or was previously unknown to you, you should be extra careful. In such unusual cases, it is advisable to clarify the legitimacy of such an order more thoroughly, for instance by checking any security elements like e-mail signatures (digital signatures) are in place. You should certainly always contact that supervisor directly (in person or at least via telephone) and confirm whether this payment is actually to go ahead.

Take precautions as a company

Sensitising employees

Technical means only help to curb the distribution of such fraudulent e-mails to a certain extent, but can never completely prevent it. Fraudsters are constantly changing their addresses, concealing their identify and origin this way. In addition, they also sometimes manage to abuse a superior’s authentic e-mail account for their purposes.

The most important prevention measure is therefore sensitising your employees working in all departments most susceptible to this kind of fraud, for instance in your accounts department.

Online information

To initiate a "CEO fraud", the first thing an attacker needs is information about a company and its employees. A company website or the trade register often provide sufficient information of this kind. In addition, social networks (such as LinkedIn or Xing) are of interest to fraudsters, since they contain information about business relations or employee identity and roles. You should therefore check what kind of information is available about your company online, and limit this where possible and expedient.

Payment release process

The actual fraud involves the remittance of a payment. This usually has a foreign bank account as the recipient. From there, the funds are then promptly transferred to yet other accounts. To prevent such incorrect payments, it is advisable to establish a strict payment release process complete with checkpoints - with the best method being a system of double checks and joint signatures. This way, there is a considerably higher chance of one of the two people releasing a payment recognising a fraud for what it is and thus preventing it.

Using e-mail signatures

"CEO fraud" manipulates the payment process by faking a legitimate sender of a payment order (so-called e-mail spoofing).

The simplest variation of this is to fake the e-mail sender’s address. An e-mail signature (digital signature), which can only be inserted correctly by an authentic sender, provides good protection against this. However, this kind of procedure is relatively difficult to implement and also makes it necessary for the recipient to properly check this signature.

More serious is the abuse of an authentic (hacked) e-mail account of the sender, for instance in consequence of a phishing attack carried out beforehand. This even enables fraudsters to abuse the e-mail signature feature. In such cases, the only remedy is a strict payment release process, and to sensitise all people involved.

With the "CEO fraud" scam (also called Supervisor fraud), attackers pretend to be a company’s CEO (company head) and ask employees with payment authority to initiate a remittance of a large sum of money.

"CEO" stands for Chief Executive Officer, "fraud" is self-explanatory here.

What else would you like to learn about security when e-banking?

Register for a course now
and learn more:

Online basic course

Find out about current Internet threats and some easy protective measures, and how to securely use e-banking.

further information

Online course mobile banking/payments

Find out about mobile banking, mobile payments and how to securely use these apps.

further information

Online course for the under-30s

Learn how to use your smartphone securely. Next to basics, we will show you what you should know about social media, clouds, mobile banking and mobile payments.

further information

Online course for SMEs

Is your organisation sufficiently secure? Learn which measures you can take to significantly strengthen your organisation’s IT security.

further information

Startseite Navigation Inhalt Kontakt Sitemap Suche

CEO Fraud

Beim sogenn­anten «CEO Fraud» han­delt es sich um eine per­fide Betrugs­ma­sche. Hierbei werden Mit­ar­bei­tende eines Unter­neh­mens mit direkter Zah­lungs­er­mäch­ti­gung, per E-Mail von einer vor­ge­setzten Person ange­wiesen, eine Zah­lung an eine bestimmte Adresse sofort aus­zu­lösen. In Wahr­heit ist der Absender jedoch vor­ge­täuscht – dahinter ver­birgt sich ein Betrüger.

Wich­tigste Merk­punkte für Mitarbeitende:

  • Geben Sie bei unge­wöhn­li­chen oder zwei­fel­haften Kon­takt­auf­nahmen keine Infor­ma­tion preis und befolgen Sie keine Anwei­sungen, auch wenn Sie unter Druck gesetzt werden.
  • Lassen Sie sich solche Zah­lungs­auf­for­de­rungen vor der Aus­füh­rung von der vor­ge­setzten Person über einen anderen Kanal direkt bestä­tigen (per­sön­lich oder per Telefon).
  • Achten Sie auf allen­falls feh­lende oder nicht kor­rekte Sicher­heits­ele­mente wie E-Mail-Signa­turen.

Wich­tigste Merk­punkte für Unternehmen:

  • Sen­si­bi­li­sieren Sie Ihre Mit­ar­bei­tenden bezüg­lich dieser Betrugsart.
  • Kon­trol­lieren Sie, welche Infor­ma­tionen über Ihr Unter­nehmen online zugäng­lich sind und schränken Sie diese wo mög­lich und sinn­voll ein.
  • Defi­nieren und imple­men­tieren Sie einen Zah­lungs­frei­ga­be­pro­zess mit­tels Vier­au­gen­prinzip mit Kollektivunterschrift.
  • Melden Sie solche Betrugs­ver­suche umge­hend der Polizei.
  • Prüfen Sie die Ver­wen­dung von erwei­terten Sicher­heits­ele­menten wie E-Mail-Signa­turen in kri­ti­schen Geschäfts­pro­zessen (Zah­lungs­pro­zess).

Sicheres Ver­halten der Mitarbeitenden

Wenn eine vor­ge­setzte Person Sie per E-Mail zur Aus­lö­sung einer sofor­tigen Zah­lung auf­for­dert, die nicht ange­kün­digt bezie­hungs­weise vorher nicht bekannt war, ist erhöhte Vor­sicht ange­bracht. In sol­chen unge­wöhn­li­chen Fällen ist es ratsam, die Legi­ti­mität des Auf­trags genauer abzu­klären, z. B. indem Sie all­fällig vor­han­dene Sicher­heits­ele­mente wie E-Mail-Signa­turen (digi­tale Unter­schrift) prüfen. In jedem Fall sollten Sie die vor­ge­setzte Person direkt (per­sön­lich oder zumin­dest per Telefon) kon­tak­tieren und abklären, ob die Zah­lung tat­säch­lich aus­ge­führt werden soll.

Treffen Sie als Unter­nehmen Vorkehrungen

Mit­ar­bei­tenden-Sen­si­bi­li­sie­rung

Der Ver­sand sol­cher betrü­ge­ri­schen E-Mails lässt sich mit tech­ni­schen Mass­nahmen etwas ein­dämmen, jedoch nie ganz ver­hin­dern. Die Betrüger wech­seln ständig ihre Adresse und ver­schleiern damit ihre Iden­tität und Her­kunft. Zudem gelingt es ihnen mit­unter auch, das echte E-Mail-Konto der vor­ge­setzten Person für ihre Zwecke zu missbrauchen.

Die wich­tigste Mass­nahme zur Vor­beu­gung ist des­halb die Sen­si­bi­li­sie­rung der Mit­ar­bei­tenden in den von diesem Betrug am stärksten betrof­fenen Abtei­lungen, wie z.B. der Finanzbuchhaltung.

Online-Infor­ma­tionen

Zum Starten eines «CEO Frauds» benö­tigt der Angreifer als Erstes ent­spre­chende Aus­künfte über die Firma und deren Mit­ar­bei­tenden. Oft geben die Fir­men­web­site oder das Han­dels­re­gister bereits genü­gend Infor­ma­tionen preis. Aus­serdem sind soziale Netz­werke (wie z.B. Lin­kedIn oder Xing) für Betrüger inter­es­sant, weil dort Infor­ma­tionen über geschäft­liche Bezie­hungen oder die Iden­tität und Funk­tion von Mit­ar­bei­tenden zu finden sind. Kon­trol­lieren Sie des­halb, welche Infor­ma­tionen über Ihre Firma und Ihre Mit­ar­bei­tenden online zugäng­lich sind und schränken Sie diese soweit mög­lich ein.

Zah­lungs­frei­ga­be­pro­zess

Der eigent­liche Betrug pas­siert durch die Über­wei­sung der Zah­lung. In der Regel erfolgt diese auf ein aus­län­di­sches Bank­konto, von wel­chem das Geld dann schnell auf andere Konten wei­ter­ge­leitet wird. Um solche fälsch­li­chen Zah­lungen zu ver­hin­dern, emp­fiehlt es sich, einen strikten Zah­lungs­frei­ga­be­pro­zess mit Kon­troll­punkten zu eta­blieren – am besten mit­tels des Vier­au­gen­prin­zips mit Kol­lek­tiv­un­ter­schrift. So ist die Chance wesent­lich grösser, dass min­des­tens eine der beiden frei­ge­benden Per­sonen den Betrug erkennt und dadurch ver­hin­dern kann.

Ver­wen­dung von E-Mail-Signaturen

Der «CEO Fraud» mani­pu­liert den Zah­lung­pro­zess, indem er den legi­timen Absender des Zah­lungs­auf­trags vor­täuscht (soge­nanntes E-Mail-Spoofing).

Die ein­fachste Vari­ante davon ist das Fäl­schen der E-Mail-Absen­der­adresse. Davor bietet eine E-Mail-Signatur (digi­tale Unter­schrift), welche nur vom echten Absender kor­rekt ange­bracht werden kann, einen guten Schutz. Aller­dings ist dieses Ver­fahren relativ auf­wändig zu imple­men­tieren und bedingt zudem, dass die Signatur beim Emp­fänger ent­spre­chend über­prüft wird.

Gra­vie­render ist der Miss­brauch des echten (gehackten) E-Mail-Kontos des Absen­ders, z.B. infolge eines vor­gängig erfolg­reich durch­ge­führten Phis­hing-Angriffs. Hierbei kann sogar die E-Mail-Signatur miss­braucht werden. In diesem Fall helfen ein strikter Zah­lungs­frei­ga­be­pro­zess und die Sen­si­bi­li­sie­rung aller invol­vierten Personen.

Bei der Betrugs­ma­sche «CEO Fraud» (auch CEO Betrug oder Chef Betrug genannt) geben sich Angreifer als CEO (Chef) eines Unter­neh­mens aus und weisen Mit­ar­bei­tende mit Zah­lungs­er­mäch­ti­gung an, kurz­fristig die Über­wei­sung einer grös­seren Geld­summe auszulösen.

«CEO» steht für Chief Exe­cu­tive Officer und bedeutet sinn­ge­mäss Geschäfts­führer, «Fraud» ist das eng­li­sche Wort für Betrug.

Was möchten Sie weiter zum Thema Sicherheit beim E-Banking wissen?

Jetzt für einen Kurs
anmelden und mehr lernen:

Grund­kurs

Lernen Sie die aktu­ellen Bedro­hungen im Internet kennen und wie Sie sich mit ein­fa­chen Mass­nahmen davor schützen und E-Ban­king sicher anwenden.

wei­tere Informationen

Pra­xis­kurs

Üben Sie an von uns bereit­ge­stellten Com­pu­tern die wich­tigsten Mass­nahmen für Ihre Com­puter- und E-Banking-Sicherheit.

wei­tere Informationen

Online-Kurs für unter 30-jährige

Lerne dein Smart­phone sicher zu ver­wenden. Neben Basics zeigen wir dir, was bzgl. Social Media, Clouds, Mobile Ban­king und Mobile Pay­ment wichtig ist.

wei­tere Informationen

Kurs für KMU

Ist Ihr Unter­nehmen genü­gend sicher? Lernen Sie, mit wel­chen Mass­nahmen Sie die Infor­ma­ti­ons­si­cher­heit in Ihrem Unter­nehmen deut­lich erhöhen.

wei­tere Informationen

Send this to a friend